Bill Simmons on Sports

9 06 2013

As I was reading through one of Bill Simmons’ Grantland articles today, I couldn’t help but be drawn in by one particular paragraph and want to share it with y’all—my readers. After recounting the experience of watching his daughter cry after a Los Angeles Kings loss, Simmons started wondering if he should have tried so hard to influence his daughter into becoming such an avid sports fan that would go so far as to sob over a game. (I’ve been there.) The following paragraph is something that any fan out there of any sport and at any level can relate to and understand completely.

 

 

Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 3.33.47 PM

 

 

 

This struck a chord with me.

People often ask me why I care so much about the sports teams I passionately follow. Why I have enough DFW-sports apparel for my entire family. Why I don’t like to talk during the finishing moments of a close, crucial game or after a heartbreaking loss. Why sports are important to me.

I don’t think I could have said it better myself.

Well put Mr. Simmons. Thank you.

Ignite the Site!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

